Human Islet Research Network
Menu

Postdoctoral Fellows

A

Efsun Arda, PhD

Email: ardah@stanford.edu

Center: Stanford University

Job Title: Postdoctoral Fellow

Lab: Seung Kim

B

Hugh Bender, PhD

Email: rhbender@uci.edu

Center: University of California at Irvine

Job Title: Post-Doctoral Research Fellow

Lab: Chris Hughes

Role on Project: Integrating human pancreatic islets within a vascularized, micro-organ platform.

Chiara Borsotti, PhD

Email: cb2943@columbia.edu

Center: Columbia University

Job Title: Postdoctoral Research Scientist

Lab: Megan Sykes

Role on Project: Development of autoimmune insulitis in the personalized immune (PI) humanized mouse model.

Annie Bowles, PhD

Email: acb233@miami.edu

Center: University of Miami

C

Joan Camunas, PhD

Email: jcamunas@stanford.edu

Center: Stanford University

D

Rafael Drigo, PhD

Email: rdrigo@salk.edu

Center: Salk Institute

E

F

G

Feorillo Galivo, PhD

Email: galivo@ohsu.edu

Center: Oregon Health and Science University

Job Title: Postdoc

Lab: Markus Grompe

Alannon Gannon, PhD

Email: agannon@seas.harvard.edu

Center: Harvard University

Job Title: Postdoctoral Fellow

Lab: Kit Parker

Role on Project: Co-lead of the Parker lab effort for the “Islet on a chip” project. I'm developing ECM based hydrogels for on chip housing and investigating the micro-mechanical environment of primary islets.

Rafael Gras, PhD

Email: rg2837@columbia.edu

Center: Columbia University

Job Title: Postdoctoral Fellow

Lab: Hans W. Snoeck

Role on Project: To generate thymic epithelial cells from human pluripotent stem cells for modeling of immune responses in type I diabetes in humanized mice.

H

I

J

K

Jennifer Kyle, PhD

Email: jennifer.kyle@pnnl.gov

Center: Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Job Title: Postdoctoral Fellow

Lab: Tom Metz

Role on Project: She has been refining liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry-based lipidomics analyses, including the development of novel informatics tools for confident lipid identification. She is performing lipidomics analyses of pancreatic islets.

L

Dong-Jin Lim, PhD

Email: dan_lim@mit.edu

Center: Harvard Medical School

Job Title: Postdoctoral Fellow

Lab: Jeff Karp

Role on Project: Working on identifying suitable microenvironment for islets and stem cell derived islet-like-clusters . He is also interested in developing assays using mass-spectrometry to gain deeper understanding of the secretomic profile of these cells.

M

Mohsen Khosravi Maharlooei, PhD

Email: mkm2182@cumc.columbia.edu

Center: Columbia University

Job Title: Postdoctoral Fellow

Lab: Megan Sykes

Role on Project: Generation of personalized immune humanized mice with T1D and HC CD34+ HSCs and HLA-matched fetal thymus in NSG mice transgenic for HLA-A2 and HLA-DQ8 and then vaccinate them with different auto-antigens implicated in T1D induction in order to induce autoimmunity and insulitis in this model.

Anna Martinez Casalas, PhD

Email: annamc@kth.se

Center: KTH Royal Institute of Technology

N

Kim-Vy Nguyen-Ngoc, PhD

Email: knguyenngoc@ucsd.edu

Center: University of California at San Diego

Job Title: Postdoctoral Fellow

Lab: Maike Sander

Role on Project: Establish 3D organotypic culture model of pancreatic cells derived from hESCs. Identify strategies to vascularize islet organoids in 3D culture.

Dario Nicetto, PhD

Email: dnicetto@mail.med.upenn.edu

Center: University of Pennsylvania

Job Title: Postdoctoral Fellow

Lab: Ken Zaret

Role on Project: Reconstituting human pancreatic beta cells in multicellular 3D organoids.

O

P

Audrey Parent, PhD

Email: Audrey.parent@ucsf.edu

Center: University of California, San Francisco

Job Title: Postdoctoral Fellow

Lab: Mark Anderson, Matthias Hebrok

Role on Project: Generation of thymic epithelial cells from human pluripotent stem cells and development of humanized mouse models to study thymic function in vivo"

Heshan Peiris, PhD

Email: hpeiris@stanford.edu

Center: Stanford University

Job Title: Postdoctoral Fellow

Lab: Seung Kim

Ben Pope, PhD

Email: pope@seas.harvard.edu

Center: Harvard University

Job Title: Postdoctoral Fellow

Lab: Kit Parker

Role on Project: Co-lead of the Parker lab effort for the “Islet on a chip” project. I’m developing on-chip assays of islet function and a platform for in vitro metabolic circuits

Q

R

S

Lisa Scudder, PhD

Email: lscudder@seas.harvard.edu

Center: Harvard University

Job Title: Postdoctoral Fellow

Lab: Kit Parker

Role on Project: Works on the electrophysiological response of stem cell derived-beta cells to glucose and islet ion channel biology.

Lina Sui, PhD

Email: ls3178@cumc.columbia.edu

Center: Columbia University

Job Title: Postdoctoral Fellow

Lab: Dieter Egli

Role on Project: Modeling diabetes with human induced pluripotent stem cells. I am working on the differentiation of pancreatic beta cells from human induced pluripotent stem cells derived from Type I diabetes patients in vitro and transplantation of derived beta cells in vivo for functionality study.

T

Lance Thielen, PhD

Email: lthielen@uab.edu

Center: University of Alabama at Birmingham

U

V

W

Matthew Wortham, PhD

Email: mwortham@ucsd.edu

Center: University of California at San Diego

Job Title: Postdoctoral Fellow

Lab: Maike Sander

Role on Project: Design of conditions to optimize β-cell survival and function in biomimetic devices. Physiological characterization of islets cultured in devices or embedded in extracellular matrix.

X

Guanlan Xu, PhD

Email: guanlanxu@uabmc.edu

Center: University of Alabama at Birmingham

Y

Kisuk Yang, PhD

Email: kisuky@mit.edu

Center: Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Job Title: Postdoctoral Fellow

Lab: Jeffrey Karp

Role on Project: Recapitulation of in vivo-like pancreatic islet niches for functional islet differentiation of human pluripotent stem cells.

Z

Chun Zeng, PhD

Email: c2zeng@ucsd.edu

Center: University of California, San Diego

Job Title: Assistant Project Scientist

Lab: Maike Sander